The capital of Romania is one of the largest cities in Europe. The complex history of the country has many sad, heavy pages. Having survived all the troubles, the people of Romania were able to preserve many architectural masterpieces erected at different periods of life. Beautiful palaces, parks, interesting museums, temples and other attractions of Bucharest are invited to see on their own or with guides during excursions. We’ll tell you where to go and what to see first.
Palace of Parliament
The idea of building an unusually large building belongs to Ceausescu and came to him after visiting China and North Korea. The monumental buildings of Asia conquered the ruler of Romania. The 1977 earthquake helped fulfill his dreams. Many buildings of the central part were destroyed. They were demolished, and in the most seismically safe area of the city, a complex called the House of the People was erected (residents identified it as the House of the Pharaoh, House of Ceausescu). The volume of construction is 2% more than the pyramid of Giza.
Its architectural style is closest to the empire of the Stalin era. The height of the palace is 84 m or 12 floors (it could accommodate 25 floors). The depth of the underground part is 92 m. It has 1,100 rooms. 30 of them occupy luxurious rooms. On the premises of the building there are 4 restaurants, 3 libraries, two underground parking lots, a concert hall. The size of the building is considered one of the largest administrative buildings in the world. In the Massive Buildings category, Parliament took third place (ahead of the abandoned temple in Teotihuacan and the Space Center in Florida).
The appearance of the huge ensemble is complemented by an unusually expensive interior decoration. Everything is here: floor, walls, windows, stained-glass windows, chandeliers. The ceiling, carpets, brocade curtains are made of the rarest materials. The building suppresses with its grandeur, symbolizes the unlimited power of a bygone era. It has long been a hallmark of the city. 30% of the premises are used for urban events. They are allowed to see tourists. For their convenience, a glass elevator was built, bringing people to a posh restaurant, to the observation deck.
In 1888, the palace of Karol I appeared on the site of an ancient monastery that adorned the hill of Kotrochen, which became a famous example of architecture of the XIX century. After the overthrow of Ceausescu, the residence of the president was formed in the palace and museum expositions were opened. The magnificent building was designed by architect Paul Hetero in the architectural style of the German Neo-Renaissance. The building wore the status of a palace until 1949. He was occupied by various government institutions (House of Pioneers).
The structure restored after the earthquake is decorated with two snow-white towers with bright tiled roofs, elegant columns with complex stucco elements, beautiful windows, and cozy balconies. The interior is striking in wealth, beauty. Their appearance has been preserved in its historical form. It is believed that the interior design took place under the direction of the queen. Due to its origin (the queen was the niece of Queen Victoria of England), many elements have the European style of different eras.
Here are the Flower Salon, German rooms, decorated in the Renaissance style, the Prince’s Cabinet, etc. During the excursions, it is proposed to see the queen’s preserved boudoir, East, Norwegian Hall. The museum displays 20,000 exhibits. Among them are works of painting, sculpture, graphics, decorative arts. A separate exposition presents ancient icons, works of Romanian artists, made since the 19th century.
Address: Bulevardul Geniului, 1.
Palace of Creculescu
Looking at a beautiful palace, it is easy to imagine that it has stood on this earth since ancient times. And behind its amazingly beautiful walls lives a princess. The lace elements located on the top of the castle make it almost weightless, flying somewhere up. Its architectural style harmoniously combines elements of the new Gothic, Baroque. Fairytale building appeared 100 years ago. And has long been included in the lists of the most beautiful characters. The main use of the palace was the holding of cultural events by administrative, cultural organizations.
Prior to the outbreak of World War II, the palace housed a museum of religious art. Now it houses the UNESCO-CEPES Center for Higher Education. The palace is closed for tourists. Inspect it, listen to the history of creation, the legends living next to it are proposed during an external examination. One of them is the story that the underpass from the palace leads to the church of Skit Maguryan in Cismigiu Park. And in the mysterious bowels is a whole underground city located near Bucharest.
Address: Strada Știrbei Vodă, 39.
A rare attraction consists of restored buildings of ancient buildings that were part of the ensemble of the residence of kings of different times. The first rulers of Wallachia lived here in the XIV century. Initially, there was an armed fortification, then a fortress. It was built under the leadership of Prince Vlad Tepes. The people and Bram Stoker gave him the name Dracula.
An important historical event is the signing of the document, which became the date of birth of Romania. In 1545, the first church of Curtea Veke or the Church of St. Anton and the Annunciation appeared on the territory of the fortress. It was used for a long time during the coronation of the next ruler of the country. Today, the church is considered the oldest building in the city. The ensemble in the open space includes: sections of the gallery, parts of the defensive walls of the fortress, sections of the ancient water supply system.
Turkish bath, individual architectural elements of decorations, murals. The old or princely court includes Hanul-lui-Manuk. It was built in 1808 by Manuk Bay. A peace treaty was signed in the building to end the war with Turkey in 1812. Once majestic buildings were decorated with columns, beautiful stairs made of rare marble. Archaeological excavations at the site of an ancient fortress continue and bring new interesting elements.
Address: Franceza, nr. 27-31, sector 3.
In the central part of the city there is a beautiful palace, built in 1903 by order of the mayor of Cantacuzino. The best architect of the time worked on his project and created the appearance of the ensemble from elements of different architectural styles. The exterior of the palace is decorated with beautiful wrought-iron balconies, high arched windows, luxurious entrance gates with two stone lions. Above the entrance is the coat of arms of the family. The facades of the building are decorated with numerous sculptural compositions, carved ornaments. Since 1956, a museum dedicated to the composer George Enescu began working in the building.
Equipped with three exhibition halls, salons for concerts, balls. In a permanent exhibition are personal items, drawings, sketches, musical instruments of a recognized master. It is also proposed to see works of monumental painting in Petrescu, Kostin, Verona. The sculptural decor is made by Beckerem, Sock. The palace has preserved ancient carpets, furniture, lamps, stained-glass windows, tapestries. In beautiful halls music festivals, meetings, dances are regularly held. In summer, concerts often take place outdoors, in the midst of a magnificent park surrounding the palace. Since 2007, he has been inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List.
Address: Calea Victoriei, 141, sector 1.
The concert hall of Romania is considered an outstanding landmark of the country. This is not just a concert venue for musical events, but a unique temple of art. A symbol of the traditions of the spiritual beauty of the people, which has become one of the hallmarks of the city. The acoustic capabilities of the Athenaeum are considered the best among all the music halls in Europe. World fame brought him the annual International Enescu Festivals.
A “temple of art” appeared in 1888 at the initiative of prominent figures, diplomats, scientists of Romania, who organized the Romanian Athenaeum. In the concert hall in 1919 a meeting of the leaders of the regions of the country of Bukovina, Transylvania, Bessarabia and the Kingdom of Romania took place. It was decided to merge. The facade of the building resembles the temple of Greece and is decorated with strict columns, a high pediment, openwork windows, an elegant Byzantine-style dome.
The interior was formed over 10 years after completion of construction. It turned out beautiful, luxurious. On the ground floor of the building is a conference room. In the concert hall there are 600 seats in the stalls and 52 in the boxes. The walls of the hall are decorated with a huge fresco, reflecting the main historical events of the country, starting from the period of Dacia and Trajan.
Address: Strada Benjamin Franklin, 1-3.
The memorial building is built on the busy artery of the city. The street bears the name of the famous diplomat of Russia, Count, General Kiselyov. He was a respected person in the country. Every year on December 1 during the National Day military parades are held here. According to the ancient traditions of different countries, it was customary to meet the winners at the symbolic gate to the city. Triumphal arches were built from different materials, decorated, became the sights of many cities. One of the ancient customs of Romania was the meeting of the winners under the arches of decorated fir trees.
The first building was built of wood in 1878 in honor of the country’s independence. Over the course of history, the arch was rebuilt several times. The opening of the Arc de Triomphe made of reinforced concrete, with sculptural elements, took place in 1922. The height of the structure is 27 m, the width of the passage is 10 m. Its height reaches 17 m. The stairs hidden in the walls lead to the top of the arch. The building ends with a pediment, a terrace, from which it is proposed to look at the beautiful surroundings. In the Arc de Triomphe is a museum with documents, artifacts confirming the history of its appearance.
National War Museum
The exploits of the Romanian warriors were appreciated and respected in all historical periods of the country. The main events of the battles were forever preserved in the expositions of the Military Museum. Presented items are arranged in chronological order. Its beginning dates back to ancient times and ends with the modern participation of the country’s soldiers in peacekeeping operations. Exciting additions to archaeological artifacts are layouts, drawings, dioramas, computer images.
The repositories contain a huge number of exhibits, from which new exhibitions are constantly being formed. The museum’s date of birth is 1923. Fire, earthquake, historical events required frequent transfer of exhibits to other places. Modern expositions have been housed in the building of the former Cavalry School since 1957. Busts of famous personalities of Romania are installed in front of the entrance. Among them is the figure of Count Dracula or Vlad Tepes.
A large territory is allocated for the exhibition of real military equipment. Airplanes, guns, images of armored vehicles, rockets, naval weapons. All cars were manufactured at the country’s factories. A separate exhibition is dedicated to the collection of small arms and hunting weapons, military uniforms, numerous photographs, and medals.
Village Museum Dimitrie Gusti
Relaxing amid the extraordinary silence of the park, among the forgotten world of rural life in Romania, is offered on the shore of Lake Herraestra. You don’t have to go somewhere. A unique place is located in the central part of the city. According to the idea of the country’s ethnographer Dimitrie Gusti, one of the first ethnographic museums in the world appeared here in 1936. Samples of village buildings were brought here from all parts of Romania. Of these, 76 complexes of 322 buildings of different times were formed.
Among them are thatched roofs of Transylvanian houses, oak with carved entrance gates from Maramures, huts, dugouts. Wooden churches, windmills, watermills, buildings for agricultural machinery, grain storage, animal welfare. Some buildings have been preserved since the 18th century. Having looked out the window of the former dwelling, it is proposed to see the interior decoration, the hostess conjuring by the stove or rocking the baby in the original crib.
Almost in a stable, almost a real cow, hens running around. It is allowed to enter some houses, touch real furniture, household items. A separate exposition presents tools, millstones, oil mills, threshers. The open air museum hosts fairs, exhibitions, national holidays, and performances by artists. Souvenir shops offer local souvenirs. It is proposed to listen to the role of agriculture in the development of the country during excursions and visits to the local library.
Modern Art Museum
During the period of socialist Romania, the main building of the country, the Palace of Parliament, was supplemented by a glass extension. On four floors housed 30,000 works from the wealth of modern art. It is built on collections of paintings, sculptures, installations, modern computer technology offers. Expositions are presented in the form that modern masters see art. The institution organizes permanent and temporary exhibitions.
The interest and controversy was caused by the exposition of paintings glorifying the work of Ceausescu and his wife. It contains portraits of the family, paintings from different situations. In one picture, Ceausescu speaks amicably with King Stephen. The exhibition is not a tribute to the love of the dictator, but is in the nature of historical familiarization. All works hang upside down and tilted diagonally. The museum began work in 2004. This is a great platform for young talents.
Many of them started from exhibitions in this building. It is proposed to find out about the dates and names of the events from the catalogs of the MNAC Press own publishing house. Workshops of artists are located on the top floor of the building. In a separate wing there is a hall for a lecture hall, a cafe. Their activities diversify the list of key events.
Many churches and temples were destroyed during the difficult years for the country. But this monastery has survived, survived the terrible earthquake of 1903 in Veliky Tarnovo and adorns modern Bucharest. A beautiful inscription on the portal of the temple doorway confirms its construction in 1715. The current monastery is named after the founder Antim Iviryanu. For a long time, a well-known school of clergy worked in it. In the XX century, the monks were arrested, the monastery was closed.
Thanks to the care of the Romanian church, the monastery has been restored and included in the list of city sights. The architectural structure is made in the style of “Brynkovyan”. It appeared in the country in the XVIII century and is still used in modern buildings. A distinctive feature of the style is the use of carved ornaments, decorative paintings, arches, columns. Beautiful ornaments, figures of animals are fixed on cornices, balconies. Elements harmoniously create an openwork, easy look of the building.
Among the complex pattern above the front door, an image of a snail stands out. The first key to the gate (the most beautiful among the building elements at that time) was made in the shape of a snail. This is a symbol of faith, humility and humility, the emblem of St. Antim. There is evidence that Antim made them. A laurel wreath with a star on top is made above the head of the Saint.
Address: Metropolitan, 29.
Radu Voda Monastery
On the territory of an ancient hill in the center is an important center of religious life in Romania, a monument of history, spirituality, art. Radu Voda Monastery was built on the initiative of Alexander II in 1568. It was originally called the Church of the Holy Trinity. The monastery owned estates, the surrounding villages, creating a high prestigious level throughout Wallachia. During the reign of Micah II, the first city library was created within the walls of the church.
There is a legend that near this place the famous Bucur grazed sheep, which gave the name to the city, grazed sheep. Previously, a magnificent palace towered here. Now it is proposed to look at its archaeological ruins. The monastery has a difficult life. It was often closed, destroyed not only by the forces of the elements. The last restoration was completed in modern time, and the monastic life came to life in 1998. The bell tower, the walls of the temple are restored. Interesting murals appeared by the icon painter Archimandrite Sofian. They are made instead of the lost and not subject to restoration.
Of interest are important archaeological artifacts. Their appearance is associated with the life of settlements during the Paleolithic. The monastery has several tombs of famous church figures. One of them belongs to the patriarch Justinian Marina. Here the Patriarch of Constantinople Dionysius IV is buried.
Address: Strada Radu Vodă 24A.
National Museum of the History of Romania
In 1970, the old building of the Postal Palace (it was built from 1894 to 1900) housed exhibition halls, rich exhibits on the history and archeology of the country. By the significance of the collections, the museum took first place among similar institutions in Romania. The rich collections feature exhibits that reveal a thousand-year history. Artifacts highlighting the influence of Roman and Ottoman troops on the territory of the country are highlighted in separate exhibitions.
Among them are historical documents, manuscripts, tombstones, monuments. On the porch of the building is a monument to Troyan with a she-wolf in her arms, which confirms the presence of the Romans in the role of the ancestors of modern residents. Archaeological finds from the Stone Age, orders, medals obtained in various battles. Some damage to the collections, the building was caused by the 1977 earthquake, historical events in Bucharest. After restoration, restoration, the building received a second life.
Tourists are invited to go through the 41 halls of the former palace, to see expositions with folk costumes, paintings, sculptures, objects used in everyday life. In the Hall of the National Treasury, 3,000 items of gold, king’s jewels, 12 jewelry created in the 16th century are exhibited. In 1867, this collection was exhibited in Paris and was the most expensive in the world.
Address: st. Kalya Victoria, 12 (sector 3).
In the rich architectural heritage of the city, a beautiful place is occupied by the beautiful building of the Stavropol Church. Since April 2008, he received the status of a convent. The monastery received its name in honor of the elected Metropolitan Staropol of Cari. Being on the busiest street of the old city, the monastery surprises with its solemn, beautiful calm. Appearing in 1724, it did not collapse and was preserved in its original form.
This is a vivid example of the Brynkovyan style with a huge number of complex carved ornaments, original architectural elements. The facade of the church, stone columns, a gallery, floral patterns, images of saints from biblical subjects have been preserved. Inside, the abundance of ancient frescoes covering the walls, the icons of the XVIII century is striking. At the entrance, the visitor sees a wooden door with a unique work of craftsmen. Under the dome of the church, the singing of the church choir, known in many countries as the ancient Byzantine tradition, sounded. Another miracle of the beautiful monastery is its patio.
Among the kingdom of silence, greenery is a group of gravestones with ancient inscriptions. They make up elements from the exposition of the lapidarium of the monastery. It has a large library with works on church history, art, theology.
Address: Strada Stavropoleos 4.
National Museum of Art of Romania
At the site of exhibitions, expositions with objects of foreign and national art, there used to be a residence of local kings. The neoclassical building was built in 1812. It proposes to see the historical process of development of fine art. Here are old icons, works of early painting, modern masterpieces. Separate expositions are dedicated to the works of the artist from Romania, Nicolae Grigorescu, the impressionists Lucian and Andreescu.
Surrealist Victor Browner, portrait painter Corneliu Baba. Among the many sculptural works are the works of Constantine Brancusi, Dimitrie Pachurea. The birth of the collection of foreign masters was due to the personal collection of King I. Now the European art gallery houses over 3000 exhibits from the works of masters of Florence, Rome, Naples, talents of the Renaissance. The works of El Greco, Alonso Cano, Francisco Zurbaran are placed in the Spanish art section.
Separately organized an exhibition of masters of the golden age of artists from Holland, as well as a collection of paintings of Russian painting. Among them are the famous canvases of Repin, Aivazovsky, Serov, Malyavin. The creativity of the German painter, graphic artist Hans von Aachen is presented in the German art section. During the acquaintance with interesting expositions, it is proposed to see samples of furniture of those times, products from rare porcelain, faience, carpets, embroidery, lace, old dinner sets.
Address: Calea Victoriei, 49-53.
Museum of Peasant Art of Romania
The history of modern Romania would not be complete without revealing to it the distinctive, unique features of peasant life. It was reflected in the original houses for life, the special conditions of the agrarian labor of the population, public holidays, beliefs, legends. Rural culture of the country was manifested in the features of clothing, dresses, jewelry, culinary traditions. Residents of the country strive to preserve the heritage of their ancestors, to transmit to future generations knowledge of the customs and customs of simple peasant families.
The country has created several museums that tell about simple life for many centuries. One of these places, which has an extraordinary power of emotional impact on those present, is considered the National Museum of the Romanian Peasantry. In an elegant building with large vaulted windows, red brick walls that look like a palace, you are invited to listen to historical facts and see exhibitions. The building is decorated with floral patterns, a decorative tower in the style of an old church.
On the territory are real wooden houses, churches, agricultural buildings, primitive factories (compared with real enterprises) for baking bread, making cereals, cheeses. And inside the houses, furniture, icons, products with embroidery, photographs are preserved. The idea of creating a place of living memory of the life of peasants, originated in 1906 with Carol I. It took 29 years to create. In 1966, the institution was named the best in Europe.
Address: Soseaua Kiseleff, 3, Sector 1 (permanent exhibition), Strada Monetariei, 3, Sector 1 (Tempe exhibition hall).
The building of the National Bank of SES
Among the beautiful buildings of the historical center, the architectural creation of 1885 stands out. It was built for the headquarters of the national bank of the country. The palace served this purpose for 106 years. Subsequently, local authorities decided to sell the building to the municipality. It has become difficult to provide modern banking services to customers. Some offices have been preserved, but they do not serve the population. In the luxurious rooms, an event was held to mark the 60th anniversary of Princess Margarita in 2009.
The appearance of the structure is characterized by a dome made of glass and metal elements. The entrance to the building is decorated with an arch, mounted on columns. On one side there is a monument to the first director of the National Bank. The building has a museum. Among his exhibits it is proposed to see valuable collections of numismatic elements with the oldest coin and paper money of the country, a collection of gold coins. Learn the history of the building, the stages of the emergence of the national currency, the principles of the National Bank.
Museum of the History of the Jewish People
Neighborhoods for Jews are in many European cities. Preserved houses, streets, synagogues, museums, telling about the real pages of the history of different countries. This place is located in the premises of the Great Synagogue, erected in 1850. The museum appeared in difficult times during the reign of Ceausescu in 1978 due to the efforts of the last rabbi Moses Rosen. Expositions, exhibitions tell about the difficult life of the Jewish people in Romania. About his rich culture, traditions, achievements in culture, medicine. They do not allow to plunge them into the sad world of oblivion of the past.
The expositions are based on the principle of combining the historical stages of Jewish life. They include archaeological finds, (especially from the time of the Roman conquests), a version of the book of Rabbi Binyamin (France). They reflect the characteristics of interethnic relations, the characteristics of the organization of trade and economic life. A separate exposition reflects the influence of Romanian Jews on the development of education in the country. Showing documents confirming participation in the First Zionist Congress, held in Basel in 1897.
In the creation of the “Union of Local Jews in 1909,” which exposed the problem of protecting civil rights. The exposition of the Memorial Hall is called a tragic song for Jews who died during the Holocaust of World War II. A valuable element of the museum is a collection of Judas from artworks, household items, manuscripts, a top for Torah scrolls, ritual clothes, etc.
Address: st. Mamulari, No. 3, sector 3.
Park of King Mihai I
The historical center or Lipscan quarter is characterized by beautiful streets, many old buildings. Walking among them, you can’t get tired, because next to the chic monuments there is always a cozy relaxation area. Bucharest is considered the green capital of Romania. It has many parks, gardens. The largest of them appeared on the site of an impenetrable swamp surrounding Lake Herastrau. After its drainage in 1935, the National Park was created. In different years it was called Karol II Park, Herrestrau Park, and I.V. Stalin Park. It was demolished in 1956. He received the modern name in honor of the last king of the country in 2017. The park area is conditionally divided into two parts.
In one of them is the Open Air Museum. Expositions talk about peasant life. The other half is used for recreation by residents. Along the alleys are numerous statues. Elements of the architectural buildings of the park bear the features of the Stalin period. Previously, among them stood a sculpture of Stalin. The park has fountains, many cozy benches for relaxation. On the lake shore there is a parking for boats, catamarans. They are offered to be rented at the rental service for a relaxing walk on the lake.
Church of St. Nicholas
The Orthodox Church was built on the initiative of the Ambassador of Russia in 1909. The emperor of Russia financed the construction of the temple. The parish of the new church was made up of representatives of the Russian mission living in Romania. In 1934, the building was given to the university, which gave it the second name “Student Church”. The re-consecration of the church took place in 1967. An elegant temple was built in the pseudo-Russian style.
A square foundation was used. It is decorated with 7 domes resembling the onions of Russian churches. Initially, they were plated with gold. During the 1977 earthquake, the bell tower of the church was badly damaged. The interior is decorated with a carved gold-plated iconostasis. It was made in the image of the Church of the Twelve Apostles of the Moscow Kremlin. The painting was done by V.M.Vasnetsov. The walls and ceiling were decorated under the direction of the artist Vasiliev. The Byzantine style and elements of murals from Russian monasteries were taken as a basis. Now the church belongs to the patriarchate of the country and is known as the temple of the university.
Address: Str. Ghica Ion 9 sector 3.
George Enescu Museum
In one of the most beautiful buildings (Cantacuzino Palace) are exhibitions dedicated to the famous composer, musician of Romania. A surprisingly harmonious combination of creations of two types of art that glorified the country – architecture and music. The luxurious interiors of a private house seem to be filled with the eternal music of the composer. Personal things, documents of a person whose name will remain forever in people’s memory, cause surprise, respect. As a young child at the age of 5, he began to write extraordinary musical works.
The way of learning, becoming as a composer, performer, teacher was not easy. But always in the masterpieces created, elements of distant childhood from Romanian folklore were preserved (for example, the famous Romanian Rhapsodies created in 1902). The character of Enescu’s music was greatly influenced by the European romanticism of Brahms, Wagner, Schumann, and the Strauss opera genre. Enescu performed with many famous personalities as a performer. He repeatedly came to Moscow, performed as a conductor in the concert halls of Europe, the USA. The composer was a cultural figure with a specific civic position.
He helped the wounded, gave charity concerts. To preserve the memory of the country’s outstanding personality, the Enescu International Society was created. The result of his work is the release of collections with the composer’s legacy, scientific research of his work.
House of Free Press
The legacy of centuries, political, cultural heritage is scattered throughout the world. Each ruler left his mark in the form of magnificent palaces, unique health centers, gardens, parks. Many of them have been preserved, restored and are striking in their beauty, direction of use. The architectural masterpieces of the Stalin period evoke an ambiguous opinion about their merits. In some countries they were destroyed. The monumental buildings are part of history, and their value will increase from century to century. The Free Press House was erected at the dawn of the Stalin era in 1956.
At its creation, 7 high-rises of Moscow became an architectural analogue. The height of the building was 92 m, plus 12 m of antenna. In 1960, a monument to Lenin was erected on the square in front of the country’s highest building until 20007. Now he is gone. Initially, the premises of the giant were residential apartments. A large number of architects of the Soviet Union lived in them. Here was the editorial office of the newspaper Skinteya or Iskra. During this period, the pulp was called the Printing Plant or “Skintey House” named after I.V. Stalin. ”
Almost all printing devices, halls of periodicals of the city were located on the territory of the house. Now part of the premises is used for offices of newspapers and magazines. In the southern part there is the Stock Exchange, the popular daily publishers Ziua and National Journal. There is also a press archive, a photographic agency.
Bucharest State Circus
Along with the victory of the democratic forces in the country, an active restoration of cultural traditions, the development of art, architecture, and education began. Schools appeared, scientific organizations created to implement programs to improve the cities of the country. Improving the technological base of numerous industries has allowed the use of new elements in the construction of buildings. Gradually, frame metal elements began to be increasingly used in the construction of original buildings. They were created by the ideas of local architects. So the creation was the building of a new circus.
In 1961, it was the largest circus in Europe. Here and now there are unique performances of the circus show “Globe”. The building has an unusual for that time round shape with a wave-shaped roof. It is equipped with comfortable aviaries for keeping animals, a hall for 3500 seats. The original element is the lighting design of the roof. Powerful spotlights direct the beam to the central part of the dome. The lighting of the hemispherical arches enhances the unusual effect. After reconstruction, modern compact LED sources are used to create it. Since 2010, the building has been declared a historical monument of the country.
The central boulevard of the city, about 3 km long, resembles the Champs Elysees of Paris. Unirii Boulevard connects the Palace of Parliament and Alba Iulia Square. It appeared in the 80s of the XX century as part of the creation of the Civic Center to host the main governing bodies of the communist movement and the residence of its leaders, officials. Earlier in this place there were quiet streets, synagogues, churches, beautiful buildings of the 19th century, ordinary residential buildings. Sites of the same name square, prospectus on September 13, Liberty Boulevard, passing in front of the House of the People, disappeared.
The architectural composition of the Civil Center resembled a similar ensemble of the capital of North Korea Pyongyang, which Ceausescu loved. In connection with the collapse of the dictator and his execution, not all plans succeeded. Part of the buildings of the boulevard, the surrounding parks became the property of the city. Tourists are invited to walk around with numerous fountains along the main pedestrian, sightseeing street of the city.
Bucharest Botanical Garden
The first location of the botanical garden, founded in 1860, was a site next to the faculty of medicine of the city university. From 1874 to the present day, it is located on the hill of Kotrochen, next to the famous palace in a beautiful area and has become a masterpiece of landscape art. Over an area of 17 hectares 10,000 plant varieties have been collected; a large greenhouse is working. At the entrance to the park is a garden of ornamental plants. It presents 500 species of beautiful flowers, shrubs, trees. The Mediterranean guest department contains 100 species of flora from the region.
Thickets of blooming orchids, protected endemics, coniferous plantations, the Italian garden, along with numerous waterfalls, fountains, create ideal conditions for walking, recreation. At the same time, it is proposed to inhale the aroma of the rosary, the collection of irises, to see a real oasis of herbs, plants used to improve health. The Museum of the Botanical Garden is located on site. On the exhibition stands of the beautiful building are documents, instruments, artifacts made from plants, herbariums, elements stored in alcohol, formalin.
Address: Sos. Cotroceni, nr 32, sector 6.